ALIVE AND WELL :) . . . Part 2 (my summer journey)

As I mentioned in my last blog, I have not posted all summer and have a lot to write. I decided to break it up in 2 parts so as not to bore or overwhelm people. So this is part 2 of my summer journey . . .

I am no longer going to see my “Weight Dr.” I know what I need to do and I need to just do it! I was wasting his time over the summer and taking up a spot that someone more committed could be using. So I decided that for the summer I would take a break and possibly reconsider going back at a later time. I, at this point in time think I can do it on my own. I did it before and I can do it again . . . just need to believe it and commit to it. 😉

My husband started a new job just before summer and unfortunately he wasn’t able to take time off to go on vacation. This was a little bit disappointing, but you do what you have to do. We still booked our yearly camping trip, but this year we chose somewhere close so my husband could travel back and forth from work to the camp site daily. He didn’t mind it, it worked out well because my daughter and I got a lot of much-needed quality time during the day and in the evenings we enjoyed time with my husband. The saying really is true . . . it’s not the quantity of time you have with each other that is important, it is the quality of time. And reconnecting with my daughter and using up every precious moment with my husband was truly amazing. So what I thought would be a disappointing trip because it wasn’t the norm for us turned out to be the most eye-opening, magical and special of any trip so far!

I am finally starting to get used to alone time and rather enjoying it! 😉 My husband works odd hours right now do to his new job, but that won’t last forever, so we do the best with what we have and we actually enjoy each others company more now. It all goes back to the above saying “it’s not the quantity of time you have with each other that is important, it is the quality of time” and believe you me, we sure make good use of our time 🙂 I am also proud of myself, for dealing with the changes in our life in a positive and productive way. You see I don’t take to change very well. At first it was hard, but I found my strength and now I am embracing the change and learning new things because of it. I truly believe everything happens for a reason!!!

We recently were lucky enough to throw a 50th wedding anniversary party for my  in-laws . . . how simply amazing is that to be able to say that you have been together for 50 years. They are role models not only for my husband and I, but for my children as well. It is a reminder that even in our world today it is possible to stick it out for 50 years if you truly want it and that in the end the positives far out way the negatives. “love doesn’t make the world go round, it just makes the ride worth while” I only hope that my husband and I can some day say that we were happily married for 50 years as do I wish that for my children.

Having said that, I couldn’t help but think that my parents would have been married 45 years this February  had my mom not passed away so young. Another reminder to live each day as if it were your last, because you never know what tomorrow will bring!  My mom gave to me  in 18 short years something  that some people don’t get in a life time. I miss her dearly and I know she would be extremely proud of who I have become today! 🙂 I just wish I could have shared it with her, but I know she is here with me each and every day!

Surrounding yourself with the people you love and whom love you in return really makes all the difference in the world . . . Like I said to my husband Saturday when we celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary . . . “It doesn’t matter where you go in life, what you do… it’s who you have beside you” . . . and that really rang true this past year . . .

Thanks for an amazing year and hope that the next one is filled with just as much self discovery and positiveness as the last. 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aimee
    Sep 20, 2012 @ 16:31:02

    Congratulations to your in-laws! My aunt and uncle have been married almost 40 years which for their generation is almost unheard of these days. I’ve always admired their marriage. I second everything you’ve said in this post. It really is quality over quantity. We tend to go on weekend getaways here and there throughout the year but we always feel refreshed after spending the time together. Life is too busy these days. It’s good to slow down once in a while and appreciate what’s right in front of us. Posts like yours remind me to stop and breathe. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

