HEALTHY EATING . . . may not be so healthy?

I was just going through my old food journals where I thought I was eating so healthy. I was eating beans, quinoa, buckwheat, avocado, homemade soups, lots of fruits and vegetables, cut back on meats, fats etc., never ate out except for the odd french vanilla cap from Tims, no frozen meals, all homemade and was very surprised when my weight kept rising along with my cholesterol. I finally realized what I was doing wrong when I started visiting my “weight Dr.” to get my cholesterol under control. . . I was eating healthy for a “healthy person”. I unfortunately did not fall into the category of a “healthy person.”A lot of the foods I was eating were very healthy, but high in either natural sugars or carbs that converted to sugars which got stored as fat which caused my cholesterol and weight to continue to climb. So I guess what I realized was that each person is individual in so many ways, even with how food is going to affect their body and health. What is OK and healthy for one person to eat, may not necessarily be right for the other. Bottom line, know your body and READ LABELS. Many foods we think are healthy, may be packed with sugar, sodium, saturated fats and we won’t know unless we read the labels. I have been doing this and boy am I shocked at what IΒ  see. I compare my food journals from a year ago to now and it is very different. I am more aware of what I am putting in my mouth. There are no more excuses that I didn’t know . . .

Attached is a link that I found interesting . . . 5 “Healthy” Foods That’re More Fattening Than a Twinkie. You may or may not be surprised

http://ca.shine.yahoo.com/blogs/healthy-living/5-healthy-foods-thatre-more-fattening-twinkie-222800373.html

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aimee
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 21:03:33

    When I first started reading the so called “healthy living blogs” I suddenly found myself putting nut butters on everything from oatmeal to yogurt. I’m a self-proclaimed peanut butter addict. I love it…the more the better and somehow I had even convinced myself it was healthy. It is if you don’t eat half the jar. On some of these blogs agave syrup, dark chocolate and Nutella flow freer than tap water. Well that’s all well and good if you’re at a healthy weight and managing it with lots of exercise.

    This was a really great post. It is very difficult for me to face the truth at times, but this was one I definitely have had to confront in order to push past this plateau I have been on for over a year. I’m making progress, slowly but surely.

    Great link at the end. It’s shocking isn’t it?!

    Reply

  2. free2bme123
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 07:30:18

    Thanks Aimee, keep it up, every little bit counts . . . you can do it!!! I too am stuck at a certain weight, but I know exactly why and can change that any time I am ready, just getting ready that is the problem πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  3. thebettylife
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 01:48:18

    This is a really good point. I used to think that having smoothies everyday was what my body needed to stay fit and healthy. However, the amount of sugar in those things is crazy. I know it is ‘fruit sugar’, and the vitamins and anti-oxidants are all beneficial, but your body metabolises that 28g of sugar the same way as it would a chocolate bar. Bodies doesn’t care what kind of sugar it is, it will still get stored in fat cells if it is not used up as energy. Like you said, fine for a healthy active person, but not too great in someone trying to shed excess weight.

    Thanks for sharing.
    Betty xxx

    Reply

    • free2bme123
      Jun 09, 2012 @ 08:21:14

      πŸ™‚

      Reply

    • George Harris
      Jun 09, 2012 @ 09:20:22

      Aye, fruit sugars are still sugars. But fructose must be processed by the liver before it can be used by the cells – the cells can’t directly process fructose, so the liver converts it to glucose – but it will only convert it to glucose if there’s insufficient glucose in the blood. Blood glucose sufficiency means the liver converts the fructose to triglycerides, and given that there’s enough glucose in the blood to allow the liver to convert the fructose in the first place, those triglycerides will then simply be picked up by the fat cells and tucked away.

      This is why we should probably only eat fruit when we’re actually in need of energy, like after or during exercise, and then only as a part of a complex of other carbs, as the liver conversion is rate limited (if you’re working hard, you’ll need more energy to carry on or refuel than the liver conversion process can allow, probably. I say probably because there are all sorts of weird metabolic adaptations that are poorly understood, like some people being able to work at their cardiovascular limit despite being in keto-acidosis, which in theory shouldn’t be possible).

      My little addition…
      George

      Reply

Leave a Reply

