2K RUN . . . couldn’t ask for a better day!

Yesterday was the 2k run that my daughter, son, his girlfriend and I had been looking forward to  for a couple of months now. We were all dreading it the day of for some reason (anticipating the worst I guess) . . . when we finally got to the start line which we arrived waaaay too early as we always do 😉 we decided to sit on the rocks by the lake, skip a few rocks, enjoy each others company and the beautiful day that we were blessed with. With the sun beating on our faces we some how forgot about the nerves we previously had. It was a nice start to what would later turn out to be a perfect day. The only thing missing was my husband who unfortunately had  to get on a different bus to go to the finish line where he would be cheering us on and holding a sign that would make  me melt . . .  If I wasn’t out of breath, getting ready to cross the finish line and I could have gotten to him, I would have left the race,  run over and given him a huge hug and kiss . . . Gosh, I love that man!

Any way, I am getting ahead of myself here . . . back to the starting line. See that man always makes me forget what I am doing. 😉 Now, so you know, we had decided ahead of time that everyone would go off and do their personal best and not worry about who was behind. We would all meet up at the finish line. We  all line  up and anxiously wait our turn and the butterflies start to turn in our stomachs. 10-9-8-7-6-5 the count down begins, then the signal goes off and there is a mad dash. My son and his girlfriend went on ahead, but my daughter who has participated in several running events and has placed top 5 in most and came in second in one of them, well, she is still beside me, why? So I say to her with what breath I have left,  go on ahead, I am fine, to which she reply’s  I want to stay with you! Now, I know she is very competitive and would really like to beat her previous time or  even her brother, but she won’t leave my side, so I say one more time for her to go and reassure her that I won’t mind and she starts crying and says mom! I have done many of these, I want to stay with you and then I start crying . . . crying and running, not a good mix so we stop and I hug her and tell her how much it means to me and off we go again. It was a very special moment.

I am proud to say that we were only 5 minutes behind my son and his girlfriend or so they say, I thought it seemed much longer, but none the less I crossed the finish line before they moved the end runners onto the sidewalk lol! I only stopped to walk twice and only for a short time. Crossing the finish line with my daughter saying you can do it mom, we are almost there (I was ready to stop and walk at that point) and seeing my son, his girlfriend cheering and my husband holding the sign (ahhh, the sign ;)) and cheering for us was incredible. 🙂 A feeling I will never forget. I high-fived my daughter and said we did it and I started to cry again like a blubbering idiot and hugged my daughter again and told her how much I appreciated her staying with me and if it wasn’t for her encouraging me, I would have still been out there. We received our medals and they would remain on our necks for the rest of the day, we earned it my son’s girlfriend said! 😉 AND that sign, ohh that sign  my husband was holding meant sooo much to me, so after I congratulated my kids, and found my husband, I ran to give him a huge hug and kiss. Then off we went for ice cream (I had water :)) but enjoyed watching them laughing and enjoying the day, much better than ice cream don’t you think?

As you know I have had an interesting time lately with people not supporting me and I let them get me down and yesterday it was all put in perspective again. This is what it is all about, this is truly what matters in the end and that is what I will be focusing on from now on.

So thank you once again to my family and blogger friends for helping me see things much more clearly 🙂 And that sign and our medals are all still hanging in our living room where they will be for a long time 😉

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Healthy Runner Wife
    May 07, 2012 @ 15:55:54

    Congratulations on the 2K!! Sounds like the race really helped you put everything into perspective. I’m so excited for you! What’s your next goal?

    Reply

    • free2bme123
      May 07, 2012 @ 18:39:17

      It sure did, thanks. I was thinking about the 5k, but I am wondering if that would be too stressful and take the fun out of it. Who knows I may change my mind next year, not sure. I know I will continue to jog on my treadmill for sure though! Have a good night

      Reply

      • Healthy Runner Wife
        May 08, 2012 @ 03:41:33

        You can do the 5K!!! Don’t run it for time, run it with the goal just to complete it. I think I’m gonna run another half marathon in October instead of the full and do it for time since I did better than I expected on my first full marathon. It’s all about the right training plan

      • free2bme123
        May 08, 2012 @ 09:21:56

        I guess I should get started training now then lol!

  2. Krystle Lane
    May 07, 2012 @ 18:24:05

    That sounds incredible! I have never joined any RUN before. But I think it would be a great experience.
    Your daughter was so sweet to have stayed with you throughout the whole 2K and cheered you on. That was really nice.
    Ooooh i wish I can see what the sign was. (photo??) hahah nah, you don’t have to. But I’m glad you had a great time with the 2K. Are you going to start training for 3.5K? 😛

    take care!
    xoxo
    Lara Krystle “Lane” Novales
    http://thinspirationaljourney.wordpress.com

    Reply

    • free2bme123
      May 07, 2012 @ 18:36:04

      We discussed doing the 5k, but the 2k is fun and with no stress, so I think I will stick to that. My daughter does the 10k and my son and girlfriend are thinking about the 5k next year. 2 is perfect for me. You should try it, you feel such a sense of accomplishment after!
      Talk soon!

      Reply

      • Krystle Lane
        May 07, 2012 @ 19:38:36

        Wow you daughter does 10K That is amazing! I’ve always wanted to join a run. I dunno if they have there here though. I’m in Beijing right now, i dunno how long I will be staying here, but yeah maybe I’ll ask around the expat community if they are going to have some kind of run this year.

        xoxo
        Lara Krystle “Lane” Novales
        http://thinspirationaljourney.wordpress.com

  3. Aimee
    May 08, 2012 @ 10:16:29

    Congratulations! I love your race recap. It is so full of real emotion and enthusiasm and that to me is what the races are about. I ran a race on Saturday and I also cried as I neared the finish line. It just never gets old.

    Your family sounds incredible. Your daughter is so sweet to see you through to the finish line. It seems to me you have all the support you need!

    Keep doing the 2K distance if you enjoy it, but never say never when it comes to longer races. The most important thing, though, is to truly enjoy the running. You so needed that race this week. Awesome job!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

