APRIL WEIGH IN . . . on a downward spiral!

Weighed in and I am at 184.6.  Gained again. 😦  I can’t seem to get out of this slump. Lost all that I learned the past year and for some reason don’t think I can do this on my own. You see I stopped going to my “weight Dr.” because I felt that I was losing the weight he wanted me to so he wouldn’t get upset with me when I weighed in. Now I am having a hard time holding myself accountable and I feel like it is too late to go back to him because I will never be able to catch up to where he expects me to be at this point in time. I am very disappointed with myself for letting others get to me to the point that I just stopped trying 100%. I am a bit depressed about that and I think that is why I am having a hard time getting back into the swing of things. I need to do this for me. I need to stop worrying about others and what they think. I hope it isn’t too late to get back on track. I need to stop worrying about where I should be and start fresh where I am and progress from there. I can’t keep going to the Dr. for the rest of my life. I need to suck it up, stop feeling sorry for myself and get back to what I know works and what is in my best interest. So sad and disappointing to be writing my weight again for April, but I am hoping for a better number for May. Thanks for listening! 😉

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aimee
    May 04, 2012 @ 09:20:59

    First a big virtual hug for you. I’ve been there exactly where you are. I still have more weight to lose. You have two choices right now…go backwards or go forward. Please don’t give up. You are less than 10 pounds from your low of 177 in February. This is not failure, far from it. Life happens and sometimes derails our plans, but you can get back on track.

    Can you keep going to your doctor until you reach a healthy weight? I understand that you are frustrated to go back because you have gained a little weight, but the doctor is a tool to help you get to a healthy goal weight. Part of losing weight is letting out your emotions. Let the doctor know your fears and insecurities. It will help you achieve your goals.

    Please be kind to yourself. Negative self talk will get you right back to where you started and you do not deserve to go back there. You have worked so hard. You have the tools to do this. You have lost a total of 38 pounds so far. Keep going forward. You can do this!!!!

    Reply

    • free2bme123
      May 04, 2012 @ 10:10:06

      Thanks, you are right and I will definitely keep trying. Thanks for the pep talk and the hug! Always value your opinion and advice.

      Thanks again

      Reply

    • free2bme123
      May 04, 2012 @ 14:43:09

      Just wanted to let you know that I took your advice and sucked it up and made an appointment with my “weight Dr.” Will try to get down to my healthy weight and deal with everything else then. Thanks again, have a good day!

      Reply

      • Aimee
        May 06, 2012 @ 19:55:28

        If your “weight” doctor is helping you to achieve a healthier lifestyle and weight then I don’t see that as a crutch or a negative thing. We all need help sometimes. I am contemplating a return to Weight Watchers. It has worked for me in the past. I am not considering myself a failure. I just cannot get off this darn plateau that I’ve been on for months. I know that I can do it on my own, but the circumstances of my life right now are pointing me in the direction of needing a little support. I have always liked the philosophy and structure of WW so it makes sense to return to something that has proven successful in the past. I’ve just never stuck with it long enough to get to goal. Maybe this time will be it. I’ve come so far and I absolutely refuse to quit. Feel free to email me anytime for a little support. We can both do this!!! We know we’ll be happier and healthier if we do.

      • free2bme123
        May 07, 2012 @ 09:47:03

        Thank you so much. The last few pounds can be a struggle for sure. Weight watchers is a good program. My weight Dr. recommends his clients go there if they find his diet too restrictive. I appreciate your support and same to you should you if need to talk, feel free to e-mail me as well. To health and happiness. We can do this . . . good luck!

  2. Krystle Lane
    May 04, 2012 @ 19:16:53

    Hey there, keep your head up high. Weight loss is not a walk in the park. Even I have not been getting much progresss lately because I can’t keep my mouth away from lamb skewers. 😦
    You are lucky to be able to go to a weight dr. There is no such thing here… or at least I think there might be but its all going to be in chinese….. so i wouldn’t understand a single word.

    You can do this! You are so much stronger than you think. I know you can get over this hurdle. Just keep moving forward okay? i have faith in you!

    ps. I’m always here if you want to talk

    xoxo
    Lara Krystle “Lane” Novales
    http://thinspirationaljourney.wordpress.com

    Reply

  3. Misplaced Happiness
    May 05, 2012 @ 12:13:53

    Reading your post made me think of my job: I work with people who have special needs, and what we do is build in a ton of different supports for them to be successful. Then, as they get more and more independent, we start to fade out one support at a time. Some of the people I work with will never be totally independent: they will always need a certain level of support.

    If you try to think about your weight dr as a support you need in order to become more independent, and that maybe one day you can fade it out but maybe you can’t, then it may help with your struggle. So what if you need that extra support for another 20 pounds, or even once you meet your goal and start working on maintaining your weight. It’s a support for a reason, so use it 🙂

    Best of luck, looking forward to reading more of your journey!

    Reply

    • free2bme123
      May 05, 2012 @ 12:49:51

      Makes perfect sense. I guess I look at it as a weakness always having to go to him when I am really doing all the work myself. My first visit, he told me what I should and shouldn’t eat. Then every month I go to him to weigh in. He tells me how much weight I lost, how much was fat and how much was water, then he tells me to drink more water and exercise and the appointment is over. It actually takes longer to get there than it does for the appointment. 🙂 I am disappointed in myself that I am so dependent on his visits. I should be able to do this on my own. For some reason I still need that. He sets a goal every week for me and I need to reach it or possible run the risk of getting kicked out of the program which holds me accountable and I do it. Hopefully like you say I will become less and less dependent on his visit and I will be able to do it ALL on my own some day . . Now, just isn’t the day. 😦 Thank you so much for shedding a new light on the whole situation. I appreciate it very much. Enjoy your day!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

