LOW CARB BREAD . . .

I was looking for a low carb bread recipe and found this one on http://www.best-bread-recipes.com. It doesn’t have the nutritional break down attached, but I tried to figure it out as best I could and if I am correct, it is mostly protein and fibre with around 1g of carb. Now don’t quote me because I am not sure if I calculated it correct, but it is a nice tasting bread, easy to make and freezes well. I have a piece for breakfast and for a snack in the evenings if I need something. Let me know what you think . . .

Low Carb Bread Recipe

1/4 cup flax meal                                                                                                                                            
2 tbsp. nut meal (I use brazil nuts x4)
1/2 cup protein powder, plain or vanilla
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup seltzer water

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease a standard loaf pan or spray with a no-stick cooking spray. Combine ingredients and beat for 1-2 minutes with an electric mixer or food processor. Bake 30 minutes. Loaf is done when the middle springs back to the touch.

http://www.best-bread-recipes.com/low-carb-bread-recipes.html

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Healthy Runner Wife
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 07:25:15

    The Gracious Pantry has some great clean eating bread recipes too in case you want more. I absolutely love all of her recipes!

    Reply

  2. jennysserendipity
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 07:29:29

    Yummy!

    Reply

  3. Indi
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 22:38:05

    This looks yummy!! Does it have the taste of a breakfast loaf like banana bread or more like grain bread?

    Reply

    • free2bme123
      Apr 26, 2012 @ 07:20:52

      I would say more like a banana bread. Its hard to explain, it is somewhat sweet, but depending on how fine you grind the flax will depend on the grain texture. I grind it fine, so I don’t notice it as much. I have it for a snack or breakfast. I wouldn’t use it to make a sandwich or anything. Give it a try, I was pleasantly surprised and now my whole family of picky eaters eats it. I have made 2 double batches this week alone. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

