CHEERS TO FIBER . . .

I would like to share with you something I learned today. I always knew that fiber was very good for you, but I didn’t really know exactly why until now. Did you know that . . . Fiber passes through our digestive tract without providing nutrition or calories, and yet it is very healthy for us. How on earth is that possible? Well, for one thing, fiber helps to keep our BMS regular and ward off certain diseases. This I remember from childhood (the BM part that is). I was always encouraged to eat vegetables for “roughage.” as my mom would always say. It helps the carcinogens in our intestines bind to it and move through our colon more quickly than they normally would, reducing our risk for colon cancer.

Wait! there is more, fiber also helps get rid of cholesterol from our body, lowering our risk for heart disease. Perhaps fiber’s greatest value, however, is in helping to keep us slim. Yes I said keep us slim!!! (Wish I had have known this years ago, I would have actually listened to my mother and ate my “roughage.”) Fiber makes us feel full sooner and stays in our stomach longer than other things we eat, slowing down our rate of digestion and keeping us feeling fuller longer. Because of its higher fiber content, a single serving of whole grain bread can be more filling than two servings of white bread. Fiber also moves fat through our digestive system faster so that less of it is absorbed.

To increase my intake of fiber, I will be eating more whole and natural foods such as legumes, vegetables, fruits, brown rice, whole grains and flax (my new favourite friend, but that is  another topic!). I will however still have to watch my portion size because as my Dr. says “these foods are healthy foods for a healthy person.” I am not a healthy person right now, so I have to watch what I eat,” healthy” or not!

Keep in mind that adding too much fiber to your diet all at once may cause unpleasant side effects such as bloating and gas at first, so increase gradually.

As I am typing I can’t help but think of the “beans, beans are good for your heart. . . ” song that I am sure you all remember from your childhood . . . Be honest now, you are reciting it in your head right now as you continue reading!  😉

Anyway by adding more fiber to my diet, it will likely help me lose weight and improve my health at the same time.

Here’s to increasing fiber . . . in moderation!!!  LOL!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Nine Facts About Fiber « mytopweightloss

Leave a Reply

