TURN THE FAUCET OFF FIRST . . . so true, a must read!

For many years now I have been hearing the same thing; whether on TV, through  magazines, in books, through people’s observations/experiences~ however it is wrapped, it all boils down to the same thing . . . unless you address the underlining causes for your condition; mine being weight,our bodies will not be able to begin healing. “Even the most severe conditions often can be reversed by making complete lifestyle changes.”

“If you choose to avoid the underlying causes, then the same problem often recurs.”  Marianne describes it perfectly when she says in  “A Course In Weight Loss ” . . . “I often show  a slide of a doctor busily mopping up the floor around an overflowing sink without also turning off the faucet . . . The lifestyle choices we make each day in what we eat and in how we live are among the most important underlying causes of obesity and other chronic diseases . . . Information is important, but not usually sufficient, to motivate lasting changes in diet and lifestyle. If it were, we’d all be thin and healthy, as most people know which foods are healthy and unhealthy to eat. And no one would smoke. Everyone who smokes knows it’s not good for them – the Surgeon General’s warning is on every package of cigarettes, at least in this country. Yet one-third of Americans still smoke. Clearly, we need to work at a deeper level. The real epidemic is not just obesity or heart disease or cancer; it’s loneliness, depression, and isolation. If we address these deeper issues, then it becomes easier for people to make lasting changes in their behaviors.”

“If your weighty thinking does not change, then even if you lose weight, you’ll retain an overwhelming subconscious urge to gain it back. It’s less important how quickly you lose weight, and more important how holistically you lose weight; you want your mind, your emotions, and your body

to all “lose weight”. Weight that disappears from your body but not from your soul is simply recycling outward for a while, but is almost certain to return. It’s self-defeating, therefore, to struggle to drop excess weight unless you are also willing to drop the thought-forms that initially produced it and now hold it in place.”

I am in the process of re-reading this book which I would recommend to everyone. I found the religious aspect a bit overwhelming, but the points made really hit close to home and made me think! Her writings are very straight forward and to the point and her examples are brilliant . . . My previous journey to lose weight as I have mentioned numerous times in previous blogs didn’t quite work out weight wise, but I did manage to see into myself and take a better look at who I am, who I was and who I wanted to be. I say how I am feeling now (not always for the better) I don’t do things unless I want to and I try to think about me and my family first. I used to be a people pleaser even if it affected me negatively and made me unhappy. I worried about everyone elses problems that I didn’t have any time or the energy left to focus on my own. Don’t get me wrong, I still like to see people happy, but not at my expense anymore. There is a happy medium! I figured out why I was continuously sabotaging my weight loss efforts and worked through that. I feel more confident, I haven’t lost who I truly am because of it and the people around me respect me more for it.

My previous journey went from a weight loss journey to a mental health journey (which I never would have expected.) It has all been a great learning experience which has made me better able to follow through with  my new journey to getting physically healthy.

So I totally agree with the above statements, I have been there, done that and I will continue to  make a conscious effort to “Turn the faucet off first!” because mental health and physical health I feel go hand in hand. 😉

HAVE YOU TURNED THE FAUCET OFF FIRST?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wartica
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 10:15:26

    I totally agree; if we get to the root cause – especially on why we turn to certain things for comfort – we will start to turn away from them, more and more. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

    Reply

    • free2bme123
      Feb 18, 2012 @ 11:26:21

      Thanks Wartica, read your post about headaches and I too agree, medicines should be the last resort. Trying to get into meditation, but my mind doesn’t shut down long enough 😉 Thanks for stopping by

      Reply

  2. Trackback: A New Plan | The Considered Kula
  3. My Inner Bovine
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 20:25:18

    Excellent post. I have recently been really focusing on that and on the root of my compulsive eating…it’s a tough process. I just bought the audio CD of A Course In Weight Loss so I can listen to it when I do my daily walks…maybe some day we can discuss…via blogs of course 🙂

    MOOOOO

    Reply

    • free2bme123
      Feb 20, 2012 @ 08:10:40

      Absolutely, would love that! You’re right, it is a tough process, one we will have to continually be on top of, but it is so worth it in the end. Good luck and please keep me posted with your progress. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

