“IT DOESN’T MATTER, IT’S IN THE PAST” . . .

I was thinking all night and again this morning about the things that bother me most in the past and how they rear their ugly head into my present. Without warning or reason, they just randomly take over me. Why do I continue to let this happen?It takes up so much of my time and energy I wonder why I always go back to those places? Nothing good could ever come of it. I have moved on and yet I continue going back. Why is it that we can never leave the past where it needs to be . . . . in the past! Reliving them over and overย  can be so unhealthy, unhelpful and even toxic. I need to decide how I am going to handle them, find peace with my decisions and move on.

Where do I begin?

As I sit here thinking I am reminded of the Witch Dr. from the Lion King (Rafiki)

 

I have decided to listen to what Rafiki, has said . . . It doesn’t matter, It’s in the past. . .ย  you can either run from it, or learn from it.

So, as Jennifer Hudson sings in the song “feeling good” for the Jenny Craig commercial . . .

“It’s a new dawn
It’s a new day
It’s a new life
For me
And I’m feeling good”

Who knew a child’s movie could have such a great message in it and could have such a profound impact on my life . . . Thanks Rafiki!ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatracheldid
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 10:07:17

    Regrets and mistakes are memories made. Don’t look back, just look forwards and throw yourenergy into the future. Everything good can come of that :

    Reply

  2. Aimee
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 15:51:27

    It can be easier said than done, but it is possible to move on from bothersome memories in the past. It’s taken me a long time but in recent years I’ve gotten much better at letting the past stay in the past. Nothing can change from reliving the moment over and over in your head. Do your best to let it go. There is so much ahead to focus on.

    Reply

    • free2bme123
      Jan 31, 2012 @ 11:00:16

      Aimee, you are absolutely right. I need to give my head a shake and be thankful for the amazing life I have now and just enjoy. Thanks for the advice ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  3. theashleypearl
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 10:07:34

    I love that you referenced Lion King! Its one of my favorite cartoons! The advice you snagged fromt there is brilliant!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

