CRAMPIN MY STYLE . . . help!!!

OK! I have just come off the treadmill and am pleased to say that I did  2k in 14 minutes, stopping for a couple 1 minute walks. (working up to a few 30 second walks) Making progress, but sadly, at times I actually had to stop for a second because my lower legs tightened up like there was a band around them and I had a club for a leg. It’s hard to explain the feeling. It isn’t really a cramp??? Has anyone else experienced this? and How do I work through it so I can run for longer periods? My breathing is no longer an issue, but my legs are”crampin” my style . . . HELP!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. for a better me now
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 05:43:11

    Hi
    It sounds to me like you might have a muscle pump. Are your muscles rock hard even when you try to relax? does it pass after a few minutes?
    You could ask someone at the gym to verify. its normally the people who exercise alot with strength that get these, but you can get them by running too.

    Reply

    • free2bme123
      Jan 28, 2012 @ 09:24:03

      Thanks for your reply! Yes it is rock hard and it does go right away when I relax. I don’t do a lot of strength training with my legs because I have always had muscular legs from all my walking/biking (I don’t drive) maybe that’s why? What is a muscle pump? And how can I prevent it? Thanks again

      Reply

Leave a Reply

