LIVE AND LEARN . . .

Jogging on the treadmill this morning . . . yes, I actually got up early 😉 Getting ready for the 2k. I know it is small race, but I don’t want to bite off more than I can chew with my anxieties and everything, so the 2k is just right for me ~ for now! Now, not only is my daughter joining  me, my son and his girlfriend are as well. I am very excited! Just trying to get my husband in on it, but we also need someone at the finish line waiting for us as well.  I plan on crossing the finish line at the same time as everyone this time. 😉

Any way I did weights and band exercises yesterday morning and today was jogging on the treadmill. I did my 2k in much less time with a few 1 minute stops (10 to be exact)  than last year. I can only assume it is because I am 20+ pounds lighter this time. I am sure that makes a big difference. I went easy today just to see what I could do and I totally underestimated myself. Will push myself harder next time. Any tips for how to get ready for the 2k would be greatly appreciated. 🙂

I am back to my pre holiday weight thank goodness and ready to get back on track. Didn’t quite seem worth it. I lost 3 weeks of progress back tracking because I had a hard time controlling myself over the holidays.  😦 Oh well, live and learn! Meeting up with an old friend on Thursday for tea. Looking forward to it. She is the kind of friend that you don’t see for years and when you do it is as if you had been together all along.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aimee
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 15:55:48

    I think it’s great that you will have family running with you. It definitely makes it more fun. Yay for 20 pounds gone!! That will certainly make your running easier. I am not much of an advice giver, but have you looked in following the Galloway method. It’s a run/walk format that many runners use and was designed by Jeff Galloway. He has an impressive running career. I recently had the opportunity to see him speak at the Disney Marathon Expo. He has quite a following. Even though I don’t use his method I don’t hesitate to suggest it to others.

    Another thought is the C25K training program. The premise of the training program could be adapted to a 2K.

    It sounds to me like you’re making great progress. Maybe change some of the 1 minute walks into 30 second walks or whatever you’re comfortable with. No matter what you are still being active and I think that’s what really counts. Good luck!!

    Reply

    • free2bme123
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 18:20:27

      Thank you so much for taking the time to give me some advice, it is greatly appreciated. I will definitely look into the Galloway method as well as the C25K training program. I run again tomorrow, so I will try the 30 sec walks and see how that works. Have a good day and again greatly appreciated 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

