CHRISTMAS . . . how to stay on track?

Christmas is right around the corner and as much as I love this time of year it is also the hardest time of year for me and many others. For many, the approach to Christmas is a period of dread for so many different reasons. The stresses that come along with it can be overwhelming. It can come from a combination of all the previous Christmas events. It can come from worrying about others definition of Christmas and trying to be something they’re not. It takes time and hard work to make a happy Christmas, then there is paying for the inevitable expenses. Regrets about what was done or not done, buying gifts for people you may not even really like! Leaving everything to the last-minute . . . and the list goes on and on.

But for me aside from missing  those who could not be with me, it is about staying on track. How do I please everyone, enjoy the festivities, but not over do it with the holiday cheer. Food most importantly!!! It isn’t that easy to say no when someone has worked very hard to prepare a meal, but I also don’t want to have to start all over again come the new year either. How do you stay on track, and not let yourself down or anyone else?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. everydaylifeinrecovery
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 16:31:20

    I struggle with my weight too so I sympathize with you. Lately, I have been having more success managing my weight by drinking more water. I know it sounds crazy but I feel so much better when I drink about 16 ounces in the morning and 16 ounces in the afternoon. I drink it slowly and I like it cold with a lemon slice. I even crave it now sometimes. And when I get hunger pains, they are less intense the better hydrated I am.
    Hope you visit my site; you may find some inspiration there.
    Hugs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

