KALE . . . who knew???

So, I have learned something new today! I was reading up about greens last night because I can eat as many as I like on this new “diet” which really isn’t a “diet”, but rather a new way of eating for life!!! Any way, I found some kale recipes  and they weren’t soup recipes (as much as I like soup, you can only eat so much 😉 ) which I was most happy about. Reading further about kale I started to be very impressed with my new-found vegetable . . .

Kale . . . I knew it was good for you (all greens are good for you that’s why most kids hate them 😉 ), but I didn’t know that it was also good for lowering cholesterol, and blood pressure. Not only that, Kale detoxifies your organs, and helps you to lose weight quickly (I like this part :)). We also absorb almost twice as much Calcium from kale than we do from milk? All this in a green leafy thing? Pretty impressive . . .

I have made soup with kale in the past, but this morning I had kale in an omelet with garlic, oregano, parsley, red peppers, cayenne pepper, curry powder and a bit of salt and pepper mixed with 1 egg and egg whites sprinkled with a bit of Parmesan cheese. I have to say I am not much of an omelet person, but this was actually delicious. You can even add spinach if you want. I really enjoyed it and it is healthy to boot, what more could you ask for? I think kale will  be a staple in our house from now on.

I also saw a recipe for kale chips . . . suppose to be delicious, I will let you know!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. free2bme123
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 07:38:23

    Kale chips ~ tried them, not my favourite. Tasted like burnt Lays chips 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

