A SECOND CHANCE AT LIFE . . .

Ok so I am sooo looking forward to my first appointment with this “weight Dr.” I feel like I have been given a second chance to get things right and I will be monitored by a Dr. at the same time. I was always afraid to diet more than a few weeks because I was afraid it would make something else worse or was that just an excuse???

I looked for him on the internet, but was unsuccessful. From what I understand he is a metabolic Dr. who helps people who have illnesses get their health on the right track, mine being high cholesterol only or so I thought!!! I am extremely nervous like the first day of school and of course my whole family is there to support me 🙂

I go in and there is this little Asian man who in every way reminds me of the cook Yan Can that I used to watch on TV when I was younger. Full of energy and not afraid to say what he thinks. Any way he checks my chart that my family Dr sent, talks to me a bit about my background history and I begin to tell him how I thought I was eating healthy, the internet . . . and he cuts me off to say in his strong accent “the internet knows nothing!!!” OK? Then he proceeds to say that  in fact I am eating healthy, and asks me “who told you you weren’t? I didn’t? “(now I am confused) Then he says “whose to say whats healthy and whats not”. “Some people say hotdogs aren’t healthy. . .  for you they aren’t, but for someone else, they might be.” “You were actually eating for a healthy person, but you’re not a healthy person!!! So I am going to show you how YOU should be eating.” “Don’t listen to the internet, listen to me!!!” (have you had enough yet?) At this point I am ready to leave. I am scared for what will come next, but I need to hear this whether I like it or not!!! Then he shows me on the computer how quinoa, beans etc which I thought were good sources of protein were in fact more carbs than anything else. Then, if this appointment wasn’t hitting close enough to home . . . WAIT FOR IT . . .  He brings out the big guns and shows me a chart. Apparently there is 3-4, (can’t remember) different forms of unhealthy weight groupings. There is overweight, obese 1, obese 2, obese 3 possibly even a 4th, not sure, all I remember is that I was at the second last form of obesity on the chart. My heart fell so hard into my stomach I thought it was going to come out the other end. I truly must have been in denial because I was sure that I was at least near the end of over weight beginning of obese 1. I was SOOOOO wrong! Then before I could pick up my heart, he decides to tell me that I have lost 5 years of my life living the lifestyle I was living. Who wants to hear that they have taken 5 years away from their children and it is all their doing. Not what I wanted to hear. At this point I am not sure where my heart is because I am trying to fight back the tears. I would never intentionally do anything to hurt my children when in fact I already was and didn’t even realized it. Or did I and just thought I was immune to it? Or that it was just easier???

In the end, he accepts me into the program, gives me my diet and says there needs to be 100% compliance in order for it to work. I had to sign a waiver that says they  have the right to remove me from the program if they feel I am not complying.  At this point I have come to the conclusion that the truth hurts and this may be my last chance to figure things out and I wasn’t going to blow it!!! I have been given a second chance to make things right. I am going to be shown how to eat healthy, be monitored and at no cost to myself!! How lucky was I? I first owed it to myself and then to my family!!! My life as I knew it was no longer . . . no more excuses!!!  “I will see you in 2 weeks and you should have a weight loss of no less than 10 pounds”. . .  O K? NO PRESSURE!!!

Leave a Reply

